Valley Journal
Valley Journal

This Week’s e-Edition

Current Events

Latest Headlines

What's New?

Send us your news items.

NOTE: All submissions are subject to our Submission Guidelines.

Announcement Forms

Use these forms to send us announcements.

Birth Announcement

New Hall of Fame inductees recognized

Hey savvy news reader! Thanks for choosing local. You are now reading
1 of 3 free articles.

Subscribe now to stay in the know!

Already a subscriber? Login now

RONAN — On the afternoon of Saturday, Jan. 27, community members gathered at the Ronan Community Center to see the new Hall of Fame Inductees honored as distinguished community members.

Some attendees jokingly said they were there for the potato bar and the good cookies served prior to the main event. 

Committee members for the event were John Neiss, Mckenzy Kelch, Naomi Mock, Ray Aylesworth and Gale Decker.

Decker started the inductions by showing everyone the Hall of Fame website that can be found at:

Lynn Olsen was the first inductee recognized for being the “long-time announcer at Ronan athletic events and former school board member.” 

Olsen accepted the honor with a bit of humor, “My favorite part about announcing was the pay.” The crowd laughed knowing the position was voluntary and the work was really about a passion for the sport and dedication to the community.

Bud and Laurel Cheff were also honored. One of their major contributions to the community being the Ninepipes Museum of Early Montana. Bud was at the event but unable to speak. Laurel explained that he had experienced a major stroke last year. She read a letter he had written, “I made a good recovery, but I am still having trouble speaking.” 

Bud’s letter continued, “We are honored to be included in this award ceremony, and the museum was made possible with the help of my mom and dad as well as other family members. Our goal for the museum was to make a place of learning, and it has really been a community effort, and it would not be here today without many of the people in the room today.” 

The 1972 Ronan High School State Championship girls’ track team was also inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Distinguishing athletes included Phillip Roullier who was part of Montana’s first five basketball teams. 

Matt Luedtke from the class of 2000 was another Distinguished Athlete who scored over 582 points in his basketball career and was also recognized as Montana’s “Gatorade Player of the Year.” 

The last inductee of the event was the distinguished coach award that went to Marilynn Tanner who helped resurrect high school girls’ athletics in Ronan and coach a multitude of different sports. 


Sponsored by: